Life of a bubble maker

By redditchrascal

Agony

Early start to get to Kettering in time to register for my race. The plan was to do at least 50K and each obstacle once. It was cool to start off with but the sun soon came through and it was very hot. The ultra runners had their own area and Kilda managed to crawl under the metal barriers to get to me. Started the race OK but after the second lap my left knee started to play up after the marathon a couple of weeks ago and the trail running. After 20K it was starting to really hurting and I was hobbling. The V’s came over to keep J company and it was good to have some more support. Started to have a rest in between laps to get plenty of water and food on board. Found that I couldn’t run down hill after 30k and after 40K I couldn’t run up hill either. Ended up doing 45 minute 5K loops. I have never run that slowly. Managed to do the 50K and each obstacle in 7hrs 23 min and there was nothing left after that. Still managed to raise some money for Macmillan and the Brain Tumour Research, two very good charities. Disappointed my knee didn’t hold up as I thought I could have done 60K. VM was impressed with the setup and she might come next year to see how she gets on. Back home to watch the Wales game and a beer before an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.