Mono Monday...Dilligence

I always admire the soldiers (the honor guards) and the musicians that show up for the burial ceremonies at the Great Lakes National Cemetery. I'm almost positive that they don't get paid, and they could be sitting on their couches at home being slothful...but they show up out of their respect for their fallen comrades.

I've never got this shot before because I don't want to intrude, but this guy was all by himself...so I took 4 quick shots.

The playing of Taps always gets to me. On one hand, it is a hauntingly beautiful song, but on the other hand...it is a song of such finality.

Day is done,
gone the sun.
From the hills,
from the lake,
from the skies.
All is well,
safely rest.
God is nigh.

Thanks to si_b for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.