Quiet mooring

This narrow boat had found a cool quiet mooring on the Wey Navigation near Pyrford. This is close to a marina where there were lots of boats moored up.
On my way out this morning out of curiosity I turned down a lane which I knew led to another lock on the Navigation. I had never been down there before but it had always intrigued me. First I passed a delivery entrance round the back of Wisley Gardens, and then the grand entrance to a very prestigious golf club. The lane narrowed and then there was a big wooden gate and a sign saying no cars beyond this point. Very unfriendly! I could see a big mill building, but no sign of the river. So I have yet to see this lock - maybe I shall have to go by boat!
I was on my way to Hobbycraft in Woking to buy a picture frame. More than twenty years ago I embroidered a cross stitch cushion for the Surrey Room at the WI College, Denman. The pattern is derived from the curtain fabric. It was embroidered on linen and a few weeks ago it was brought back to me because the linen surround was disintegrating. The embroidery itself was almost intact so I have cut out the motif, made a few minor repairs, and mounted it in a picture frame which I hope they will happy to hang in the Surrey Room. (See extra.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.