Welcome Finlay!

Later than estimated and with some drama, last night our daughter Bec gave birth to a gorgeous baby boy who is to be called Finlay.  He is Bec and Murrays first child; he is our second grandchild, Maureen and Bruce's third; Iona and Richie are now aunt and uncle; Torran has a cousin.  It will take Bec some time to recover but there will be so much love around her.

As a new born Scot, Finlay has a baby box.  In that baby box is a poem

Jackie Kay 
Welcome Wee One

O ma darlin wee one
At last you are here in the wurld
And wi’ aa your wisdom
Your een bricht as the stars,
You've filled this hoose with licht,
Yer trusty wee haun, your globe o' a heid,
My cherished yin, my hert's ain!

O my darlin wee one
The hale wurld welcomes ye:
The mune glowes; the hearth wairms.
Let your life hae luck, health, charm,
Ye are my bonny blessed bairn,
My small miraculous gift.
I never kent luve like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.