Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Richard

I met Richard this morning on my way into work.  He's lived on the street for two years now, following an injury that left him unable to work in the construction field any longer.  Once he lost his job, he lost his apartment.  Without a place to live, Richard can't take regular showers and has no where to store his belongings.  "It's not really safe out here," he told me.  "People harass me all the time. Try to steal my stuff."  Richard said that no employer will give him a chance because of his situation.  "I don't know how to get where I need to be," he said. 

I've heard that compassion is a choice to honor someone's humanity.  Richard showed compassion today as he shared his space on the sidewalk with me.  I will strive to make this choice as well.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.