Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Bane. Of My. Life.

These forms are absolutely doing my head in - and have been for quite a few months now. A while back the Government changed the funding model for Non-Government Organisations providing health & disability Services: everything is now paid for out of one big pot-the National Disability Insurance Scheme. In theory it allows for flexible service delivery, targeted to the particular reeds of each individual. In practice it's a complete dog's breakfast.

Pretty much everyone-patients, families, health workers... -is convinced that everyone is automatically rejected the first time they apply for funding. Patients are stressed, & often losing access to services they've had for a long fire.

For me, it means form after form after form; letter after letter after letter. Really aggravating, as it's time I believe I could better spend with patients.

On that note, of time well spent with patients, a person I saw today seemed really struck by what I said at the end of the consultation: drawing together the threads of the discussion, I told them to seek "a sense of place, a sense of you; a sense of connection." They kind of straightened in the chair, & asked me to write it down.

I felt a bit pleased. 8)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.