SueScape

By SueScape

Life is Good

Today the scan results from the hospital are very good. It seems the 'experimental' medication is still working at a lower dose - I struggled with side effects on a bigger dose.  Things seem pretty stable, this is the first time I've been able to say that over a period of 6 months, for 7 years. Life is good without the prospect of imminent chemo!

Other good news, just last month, this new drug has been approved for use by the NHS. That means that many more people will be able to benefit, live longer, enjoy their lives and families, thanks to research and pain staking testing. Patients like me are proving that we don't need the hefty dose originally given.

I want to pay tribute to the amazing nurses who get us through these ordeals. They go on caring, goodness knows at what cost to themselves, emotionally. I know they feel for each and every patient. And I would like to remember those who came before me and didnt have the benefit of wonder drugs and the care we have today.

This plaque is at St Richards Hospital, Chichester.
The inscription reads:

In honour of all good nurses
and chiefly in remembrance of
Florence Nightingale
Born 1820
Served through the Crimean War 1854-1856
Died 1910

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.