JoeyG

By JoeyG

Eng-ger-land!!!

Finally, after years of failure to qualify, England got through the first knock-out stage of this year’s World Cup....and I haven’t been this excited about football and England’s chances since Italia ‘90....and oh what a magnificent championship that was!

I was 13yrs old the year we got to the Semi Finals. Looking back I was so young! But I remember it as though I were an adult at the time. I was so into it. There was me, the TV, and nothing else mattered.....just the match.

The following year a TV film, with a very young Clive Owen in the cast, was released; based on a stage play by Arthur Smith and Chris England entitled, “An Evening With Gary Lineker.” It’s still one of my favourite shows of all time. Unfortunately it was never converted to DVD; VHS copies still exist, if you have a player. It was so good. Italia ‘90 was sooo good! I remember it like it was yesterday.

I have everything crossed that England can deliver us some football glory once more this year!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.