Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Nice to meet you

Those were his exact words.

And then the giggles set in and he could barely control himself, shaking fins with Lotus with whom he would be partnered with week.

Today was not only an amazing experience for us all watching the dolphin swim so eloquently through the salty waters, but this afternoon as I sat with Reuben snuggled on me, the waters lapping the shore beside us, I just relished the hours we had doing little more than hugging, stroking his sandy hair, and talking. So much was standing still and I thought fondly of the Make a Wish Foundation's hidden benefit, the gift of time that I've been given with Reuben.

"Island Dolphin Care... a not-for-profit organization is a magical place where dolphin therapy brings children with special needs, children at risk, wounded veterans and their families joy and the discovery of new abilities. Parents and participants reclaim hope, shed stress and find inspiration through activities centered around dolphin human therapy.

I thought this rather appropriate for the Calumet theme "Interaction".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.