Wrynose and Hardknott

Set off early for a long ride to avoid the hottest point of the day. I chose a route that went over two passes I have never been over: Wrynose and Hardknott.
On previous long cycles I don't think I've eaten enough, as always seem to hit the wall, this time I used the same formula as during my recent mountain marathons - about 300kcal/hr and drinking regularly.
This worked well as never had a low point, despite quite a ridiculous number of climbs.
At Torver I checked with Windermere Ferry Cruises to check that I could take my bike on the replacement passenger ferry. I could, which was a relief as it shortened my route by 11km, avoided a big climb, and I got a nice ferry ride too.

Definitely one of my favourite rides of all time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.