AMK81

By AMK81

St Peter's Square Cross

This is the cross to commemorate St Peter's church, with the lattice work from number 2 St Peter's Square in the background. The church was built in the 1700s and demolished in 1907 and the cross was erected in 1908.

I was waiting to meet some friends for tea before going to a Waterstones author event (Matt Haig) at Manchester Central Library.

I love the lattice work on the side of one of the buildings and it always catches my eye - even though it's a modern building and some may say not worthy! I took a few photos of it from different angles, but then decided to walk around St Peter's Square. I noticed a stone cross that I'd never noticed before and wondered what it was there to signify. I took a photo of it with the latticed building in the background, then took the time to look up the what both the cross and the building are. I love that this is making me not only look around more and 'be present' but learn more about what's around me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.