Eye to Eye

By HilarysView

Yak, Yak, Yak

Or whispering sweet nothings....
I was visiting an old friend in Arolla, the highest year round occupied village in Switzerland at 2000m. There was far too much snow there to go for a walk so I drove further down the valley and walked steeply up to a village where I thought there were cows. The cows turned out to be a small herd of 12 yaks. The farmer was not there so I nipped through this barn with the fabulous view of the Dent Blanche, and over the fence to get a closer photograph or two. One of them was particularly friendly and let me take her portrait but as I got closer to this little group, the "whisperer" decided I was not to go any closer and ran towards me - TERRIFYING - yaks are as big as cows! She swerved away as I stood my ground and waved my sticks at her. Phew it took a while for my heart to come back to normal!
Large is definitely best!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.