GATESHEAD - STILL A BUILDING SITE

Had to go out today as I had an appointment with the Nurse to get my blood pressure checked. She did best of 3 again and the last time it was OK. The Nurse then said did I want my flu jab. I said that I wasn't expecting to get one as I'm not yet 65 and don't have a chronic illness. She indicated that her computer was saying I should have it. So we didn't argue with the computer and I had a flu jab.

Decided to get the bus to Gateshead and do a bit of shopping. Not Christmas shopping as the shops in Gateshead aren't really up to much. Gateshead town centre is being rebuilt so its not at its best at the moment.

My blip shows the building site which will be the new Trinity Square. Work has been going on for about a year. There will be a large Tesco, 45 other shops, a Town Square, a health centre and cafes, bars and restaurants which are due to open in Spring 2013. There is also talk of a cinema and a 120 bed hotel. On the top of each block will be accommodation for a total of 1000 students from Northumbria University - this will open in Summer 2014. The project is costing £150 million and will create more than 1,000 jobs. So the regeneration of Gateshead is something to look forward to for next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.