Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

NYN KAI AEI

One more Big Greek Wedding and this time the son of my dearest friend (originally she is from Finland) here in Chania married to his love. She like my Koumbara invited me a year ago to the wedding services of their children, so within 1 week me and my sweetheart attended 2 weddings of young adults, I've known since they wore nappies ~  so nice to witness this Big Day of theirs now! 

The wedding service was held in the open in front of the little church and the priest  told us to keep quiet and respect this congragation here as it was a holy place like indoors in the church as he kept the service here. Occasionally he had to hush us to silence... and then went on with his sermon... we were with over 600 people at this wedding party. 

And ofcourse the priest spoke the words NYN KAI AEI (Now and Forever)... words that the Greek poet Yannis Ritsos also wrote in his poems named " Axion Esti"  to which Mikis Theodorakis added his music 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.