Old age and Treachery..........

"Old age and treachery will triumph over youth and skill"

Took this 'selfie' today while walking Jonty, was going to put it on the WR963 facebook page (they are trying to get an old Mk2 Shackleton airworthy) but as it's the best photo I have I thought I'd blip it.

It's a dig at the Nimrod really, Shackleton crews reckoning their experience, knowledge and diligence would beat the technology of the Nimrods.
Ironic really as some Shack crews converted to Nimrods anyway but not from AEW versions of the Shack which WR963 was. I guess it was just because they loved the old, droning, 50,000 rivets flying in close formation, Shackleton.

In 1969 I had the hugely exciting pleasure of flying in one for 13 hours from Oman around the Arabian Sea and Indian Ocean, and back to Oman again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.