Chicken on a tyre

When it's 30C where is the best place for a hen to sit? In an old tyre of course.

All the chickens and ducks, and our two geese, seem to be enjoying this hot weather. They are mostly laying down or sitting in the shade under the willows. Even the cockerals have stopped bickering and given up trying to persuade the girls
to come over to them. It's very peaceful. Apart from the loud cheers coming over the fence, every time England scores. Not being a fan of football I cannot really understand such nationalist fervour. Or maybe the team are excellent footballers. I cannot tell.

Everywhere is very dry and the empty neighbouring field is sprouting tall ragwort and nettles. Nature quickly takes over a neglected area.

There were still lots of elderflowers on the trees and thus morning I made more elderflower cordial.
Now it's time to do some weeding although I will leave some nettles for the butterflies. The buddleia is blooming well so hopefully it will attract a number of different ones.

My little hen on a tyre is my Silly Saturday contribution. Thanks to Admirer for her continuing hard work with this challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.