Footy Mad

A big day for English football today, World Cup quarter-final match against Sweden, at time of writing I don't know the result.  So I thought I'd stay with the theme.  Ann inherited from her dad and old small suitcase, it was packed with football programmes and newspaper reports, almost exclusively Aston Villa as this was 'his' team, a tradition carried through to Colin and Tom.  Ann had recently used the case and its contents for a reminiscence session so I had a dig through.  The programmes are from the 1960s onwards and I searched for a 1966 copy, being a significant World Cup year.  The only one I found from that year was this away programme from Tottenham Hotspur, Google informed me that the result had been a high scoring 5-5! The line-ups are shown in the extras.

Not only is football being featured today, excitement at Wimbledon as Kyle Edmund takes on Novak Djokovic.  This is playing at about the same time so is being recorded.

Later News: England are through to the semi-finals (2-0).  Kyle lost in four sets, though played very well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.