Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

A Breezy Kanimbla

Well .. I am out shooting Blue Mountains vistas again, mainly because it's about the easiest (and quickest) thing to do in these freezing wind storm conditions. This time we are peering into the Kanimbla Valley from the end of Burton Street here in western Blackheath.

I am clinging with my elbow to a fence and bracing myself by every means available while the wind positively roars past, buffeting the camera. The icy conditions blast clear through my jumper and winter parka. I took about six frames and retreated to the car with great relief.

As uncomfortable as the weather is, these winter months still offer nice bonuses to local landscape photographers. The light is gentle, natural contrast is low and dollops of sunshine have broken through the cloud canopy to form warm puddles of illumination here and there across the valley floor.

I checked out the published Mt Boyce figures at 3:15 pm when this picture was shot. Actual temperature 5.1 degrees, wind chill factor temperature - 6.3 degrees, wind speed gusting to 80 kph. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.