Rocky Road

We've signed up to do the Lairig Ghru in early September, given that it will be 18 miles longs with around 800m of ascent meaning that the time has come to start training in earnest.

We picked An Socach  for today's outing - a remote munro in the Glen Shee area with a 4 mile walk in along Glen Baddock followed by a shortish climb to the plateau on which the summit sits at the west. We then made out way along the path to the the east top (just over a mile) before making our descent. This was rather steep in parts, thereby testing my nerve as my acraphobia kicked in briefly. However the worst was soon over and the remainder of the descent was over more gentle heather moorland. 

All in all just under 11 miles with just under 700 meters of ascents so a good start to our tarining.  I was planning on some more munros and corbetts but think I will focus my training on old drove roads and rights of way which I find more interesting and more enjoyable 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.