View From The Study

By StudyView

Pride

So, my day in London started well.  It was still very hot so of course I went and did lots of stuff outdoors.  Green Park then to Buckingham Palace, followed by St James Palace to see the RAF100 exhibition.  A bit of a meander to where I used to work and stay in London 17 years ago.  Then a bit of contrast, to see the Pride march, which I found very touching, although there seemed a lot of groups of young girls there with their one gay friend.  Things really have moved on since the days in the early 80's when friends were shocked that I worked upstairs from the Lavender Menace bookshop.  I missed the angry lesbians at the start, which I would have cheered, but the crowd seemed very pleased to see the police, army and religious groups showing support to the companies joining the bandwagon.

Then, off to get luggage and up the road, so I missed the football other than the last 20 minutes of extra time.  Probably just as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.