a little bit of rhubarb

By Puggle

Had absolutely no intention of being anywhere near the Quay tonight.

But when I was offered the opportunity to swop my one-and-a-quarter-hour walk home from work with a drink in a bar that advertised itself alluringly as 'kitsch', the walk naturally went out the window. (My friends clearly know how to coax me out on a Friday night..anything tacky, cheesey, trite, kitsch or deeply unfashionable and I'm sold).

Unfortunately Cityrail, knowing that people like to use public transport later than 8.30 on a Friday night, callously and with malicious aforethought decided to run only one train an hour on my line. So instead of hanging around Wynyard Station watching monster rats cheerfully congregating around empty pizza boxes, I hopped the next train to the Quay, where at least there are tourists to watch. Granted, they also congregate around pizza boxes, but they are far more entertaining.

Which is why I've ended up here, photographing the Quay for the nth time, with the lights of the city reflecting off the low clouds. There are some amazing shots of these clouds up on blip, such as by J0shua and jensphotos..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.