Happy Christmas Gulliver!

What a day!

Eric Clapton at BST (British Summer Time in Hyde Park).

First was Lukas Nelson son of Willie Nelson and his band Promise of the Real, They’re so good, he has a beautiful voice and is the top line is excellent, the songs are very moving and meaningful much like his Father’s are.

Next was Gary Clark Junior, one of Gulliver’s favourites, another amazing guitarist and great singer too with a fantastic band! He’s from Austin Texas and I heard somebody behind us in the crowd saying they were from Austin Texas had come over mainly to see him because it was the only show they could see that he was doing, However after buying the tickets he announced dates in their hometown after all LOL.


Then it was Steve Winwood and I’m ashamed to say I didn’t know that he had written gimme some loving! I remember loving him in the 80s, he did perform higher love but not Valerie unfortunately. He played the piano and guitar and sang of course, I’ve always loved his voice.

Then it was Santana who were so unbelievably tight, the musicianship was outstanding and his wife Sindy on the drums was phenomenal, we looked her up later and she’s actually 58 years old.

Then it was Clapton who was mesmerising, he played all the hits, he did a beautiful acoustic version of Layla, cocaine was a big highlight to me, he got Marcella Detroit on stage to sing lay down Sally which she co-wrote with him, she did another song with him which I didn’t know and played a great harmonica solo. Wonderful tonight was really lovely, such a beautiful love song and when he sang it it sounded so heartfelt and honest it was just lovely.

All the musicians and bands on stage were outstanding, it really was a fantastic concert, I splashed out on gold circle tickets because having been to Tom Petty you really can’t see much at such a big gig at the back, It was so worth it, we could see the bands and we really felt part of the whole thing.

Gulliver absolutely loved all of it and really got so much out of watching all the bands, I’m so so glad that I booked these tickets.

Unfortunately I didn’t feel well when we got home, it was an exceptionally hot day and we had no shade, although we had sunscreen and hats and kept hydrated it wasn’t enough, I had terrible pains down both my arms, having calmed myself down and decided I wasn’t having a stroke or a heart attack I had a Google on getting too hot and what I most probably had was cramps due to being too hot and sweating too much without replacing electrolytes so I had a vitamin drink with added salt, some risotto, some crisps and lots of water, I put ice packs on them and sat by a powerful fan and by about 2:30 AM the symptoms had abated sufficiently for me to try and get some sleep, it was really horrible and I’ve never had anything like it before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.