Leiflife

By Leiflife

A Squirrelish feast

I have been visiting Inner Harbor Park for many, many years and been gifted with wonders beyond recounting. I have ecstatically photographed birds, alligators, reflections, rain and sun-drenched clouds. And yes, I have photographed squirrels. Squirrels playing, scolding, nest-building, gathering and storing up for the winter months... Squirrels eating nuts, seeds, cores and leftover picnic debris of all sorts... But never before have I seen the pleasurable gnawing of summer green marsh grass. Pulled from the muddy bank by tiny, industrious hands, the pale and succulent ends were revealed, reminding me of the young green onions that dress up salads for humankind. 

As Lumen and I walked down the pier ( Well, I walked while Lumen alternately cavorted and sniffed for the remnants of dog and human.),  I spotted the squirrel of my photo in the midst of his delicate feast, quickly secured the leash beneath my foot, and raised the camera. This trick does not always work, but on this occasion... Voila! Two clicks before the dog sees the squirrel, the squirrel scampers, and the elderly woman recovers her upset balance and tucks her camera away. This may explain why most of my photographs these days are of a very young dog. Of course he is also very, very cute.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.