FLASHBACK

Bought myself a pineapple today - the smell was too good & the price too right!

And I got this flashback to a beach in Kerala, South India.

I had flown from Brussels & my ex-wife had flown from Melbourne & we met halfway in Madras (now called Chennai). We travelled together for six weeks throughout Southern India & had some great adventures - ending up on the beach in Kovalam where we stayed for about five days.

Every day this beautiful woman in a tatty sari carrying a huge basket of fruit on her head hassled us with the huskiest voice I ever heard..."You want pineapple - papaya - coc'nut?"

We bought her pineapples each day for the pleasure of hearing her voice & seeing the way she squatted in the sand & prepared the fruit with a super sharp knife & presented it with grace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.