Small Places

By PicLocata

Birds on Inner Farne

We took a boat trip around the Farne Islands, landing on Inner Farne. It was a glorious day, but got off to a difficult start when my 3 year old granddaughter threw up on the boat. (I can't blame her; it was choppy, a strong smell of birds and diesel, and she couldn't see out as well as us. Fortunately for me, she was on her Mam's lap at the time; I had just handed her over as she appeared to be sleepy.)

I though it would be good, from a visit many, many years ago. I was still unprepared for the sheer density of birds and the closeness of nests and chick to the path. With small children and crowded paths I don't think I fully appreciated it at the time, but looking back at my photos I am struck by the richness of the experience compared to other bird sanctuaries.

Arctic Terns nest right up to the paths, and sometimes on them. They swoop at visitors - hats are essential, and we took the precaution of adding bubble wrap inside ours.

My main photo is a Shag with young. Extras show Arctic Terns with chicks, Guillemots and Puffins. Updated - to complete my set: a black-headed gull with (I think) its chick, and a razorbill (not for the squeamish :-).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.