Farewell to the Bernese Oberland

This morning we took the cog railway down to Lauterbrunnen (the town you see in this image of the valley, including the Jungfrau), changed there, then again in Interlaken, finally arriving in the city of Bern. This view taken from the train is a more distant version of yesterday's--thus partly repetitive, which I usually avoid, but I think it's worthwhile here. In the afternoon, I visited the Kunstmuseum Bern, which is showing part of the Gurlitt Collection-- "160 works, most of which were confiscated from German collections during the «Degenerate Art» operation in 1937 and 1938." An interesting presentation of a very complex issue.  The extra displays motorcycles from Bern which I passed walking back to our hotel. N.B. My mark in the map is very approximate--google doesn't show the railroad, which leaves me entirely at sea :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.