twa craws feet

By donald

My Brother.

Here we are on the volcanic coast.

Susie's heart was melted here.
Susie. Susie.

My sister-in-law.

Broken.

But not by my brother.

For four years after
he walked their house like a ghost, then died.

He walks no less now though he should be gone.
All night I can hear him in the next room.
Each day, after work, Susie's daughter, Janey, comes home.
My brother loved her more than anyone.
She sits beside me, tired, sighs,
she has my brother's gentle eyes
and I am turned to ice and stone.
I pray: "God. Please God, leave me alone."
But Susie says, "Your brother could never have known.
Nor Janey."

Now Susie lies awake all night.
I am saying, "It's all right. It's all right."
But as soon as it is morning light

she and Janey leave the house together.

Walking. Walking.

I will pick them up when they are done.

All day I am waiting by the phone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.