mrsc48

By mrsc48

Tears

Today as part of training for London to Paris I ventured up Hartside. See in my head I have an idea that if I can get up hartside I can get up anywhere.

Hartside has been my demon for many years now. I've been up twice prior to this, once the wrong way and once the proper coast to coast route! Each time I struggled up.

Today I went with a lady I have never met but she was good company and we chugged to the top together. We were quite pleased too, we started at Langwathby just before 10, unloading bikes getting dressed appropriately, glasses or no glasses, jacket or not? Takes time to get sorted, then should I wear gloves, the bag slipped off its rack so a short stop to fit it on properly before it fell off. And then the ride began.

A little technical difficulty on one upright incline as in wrong gear selected meant a stop! But back in the saddle and off again. Difficulty starting in the wrong gear but you live and learn!

Then the climb! The first half was a steady
4 - 4.5 mph not fast I know but if you know my cycling, slow and steady and we achieve. The second half was a bit better 6 - 6.5mph .againnot fastbut who cares, we got up hartside without any tears!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.