JoeyG

By JoeyG

Path to the Unknown

The bus app said I had a 6min walk from the bus stop to the Post Office, but didn’t tell me where to go.

The map app said I had a 19min walk, taking me along all connecting roads.

Assuming the former was wrong, I began walking the latter as it was, at least, definite if not disappointingly long-winded. The first left-turn I came across had a dead end, but above the tall trees I could see the top of a large building; I took a chance believing there must be a pedestrian short cut somewhere.

At the end of the road I could see two fence posts so decided to walk through. It took me into wasteland where pathways had been made; I continued to walk towards the rooftops and sure enough I emerged opposite the large Royal Mail collection office feeling dead chuffed with myself! I gambled, it paid off, and it was indeed only a 6min walk.

I took the same approach to walking home and found a much quicker/easier route.

All I could think about on the walk home was how much a metaphor for following your own instincts this innocent little sojourn was!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.