Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Spotless

This is the time of year when seeing any insect other than a fly is super-exciting, so when I saw this spotless ladybird bug I figured I should blip it. Actually, I am only guessing that it is some sort of ladybird bug ... whose spots have somehow gone missing! By the way, took this with the new bridge camera (Nikon P510) which is really a nifty camera for macro. I had to crop it a bit, but otherwise SOOC. Not pro-quality, but nice enough.

The Audubon walk this morning was fun, although we didn't see many birds. A couple of ring necked ducks and Ruddy ducks in amongst the thousand or so Canada Geese, but not much else. Lots of big trees down in the woods though, and most of the trails in the park are closed. Still, it was fun to be outside for 3 hours and in such good company. The fellow who leads our walks is still without power, but he and his wife have been staying with another Audubon-er. So heartwarming that people are so quick to help one another out, even opening their homes.

Thanks for sending the little red-breasted nuthatch to the Spotlight page! He was back today, gobbling up seeds and suet. At one point, he flew up to a suet feeder that was only about 2 feet from me, seemingly not bothered by my presence. My guess is that he may be a young bird.

The massive flocks of pine siskins have all disappeared this week. Others on the walk this morning confirmed that they are simply vanished about 5 days ago. That said, there is still one determined little siskin hunkered down at one of the feeders, eating as if it were the Last Supper. He seems to be hanging with a group of goldfinches, so hopefully he'll be okay.

Tomorrow is supposed to be in the 60's and I plan to get out and enjoy it - maybe another trip to the park. Secretly, I'd love it if I could find a late season dragon - I am told that some of the meadowhawks are seen here on warm days into December.

I am reveling in having TV and cable/internet again - oh, what a joy! BLISS!!!

Happy Saturday!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.