mef13

By mef13

Quiet corner

I am not a golfer, but I have always enjoyed visiting the local Wellow Golf Club and passed many a relaxing break there.

They tell me it is an easy walking yet challenging, parkland course with 27 holes, made up of three courses each with a separate character.

It reveals the passage of time if I say I can remember the time before it was a golfing centre — it opened its doors 27 years ago and in that time has established itself as one of the most popular in this part of Hampshire.

Time was when I took lunch there regularly with family, friends or neighbours as a handy, yet relatively short distance from my office on the outskirts of Southampton.

This welcoming corner by the clubhouse is perhaps one of the reasons I found visits a welcome break in the day’s working routine.

At one time I was a social member, but like many clubs today you don’t necessarily need to be a member to enjoy the facilities of its bar and restaurant. My visit today was relatively brief, but I’ve made a mental note to return very soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.