A forever date

Today we buried my Dad, had a big family lunch for 40 of us, and then a Thanksgiving Service, followed by and finished off by a tea.

The service gave God the glory for the life he gave to a man that became a Christian as a teenager at Crusaders, went on to be a Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, but primarily dedicated his life to teaching the Bible and encouraging others to teach it faithfully too.

My oldest brother preached at the service. He explained the good news of the Gospel clearly and winsomely.

Dad was an only child. And now we are a crowd. I’m one of 5, we are all married and there are 18 grandchildren, and 5 of them are married. Today, there was such strength and unity and love amongst my generation and the younger one. Love was not spoken about or demonstrated openly from the generation above. I’m sure their parents didn’t either. But time has changed things - and as the family gets bigger and bigger, we will only meet a few times a year but each time will be incredibly special.

Jesus is honoured as we remember my Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.