dreaming

By dreaming

Heat struck

I visited my older sister at the rehab today at her invitation - at this point, I only go when she asks me to.  It's better that way.  She's been doing a lot of acting out lately, but fortunately we (EW and I) no longer have to deal with that.  When she was in assisted living, they would call EW and tell her that she had to take May to the Emergency Room when she started acting crazy.  That's no longer our responsibility, thank goodness.  Unfortunately, the social worker has been unable to find a new home for her.  She's contacted fifteen of the homes that are certified for Extended Care, and none have been willing/able to take her.  They don't have to say why.  So she's still in limbo.

When I came out to the parking lot, the thermometer in my car read 92 degrees.  By the time I got to EW's house for tea,  it was down to 88.  Even after an hour of parking in the shade, it was still 88 when I left for home.  Here in my apartment, I've got all the fans going to make the heat bearable.  Minkelina and I are wilted, and since the temperature will drop only a little tonight, we will wake up tomorrow in an already warm home with the morning sun baking us to even higher temps.  

We are heat struck.  And so are EW's lovely hydrangeas, which looked so beautiful last week and now are shriveling in the heat and lack of rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.