Day 13 ..... some areas still not reenergized

We are fortunate that the power is back, but just 100 yards away the road is still blocked and several hundred homes are still without power.

The social media, twitter, facebook, texts, local online newspaper, emails etc are now focussing on the ineptitude of the power company. And rightly so.
This is a similar photograph to the one I took the day after the Hurricane hit.

The power company now says that everyone will have power back by Monday night. I assume that eventually they will get their prediction correct.
I can see the headlines now " JCP&L restore power to all of New Jersey" !

On the plus side, I hadn't realized what a luxury being able to 'flush' was, going to bed without 5 layers, not having to collect water every day from a standpipe and of course plus side side #1 No TV. Oh what a joy that was.

On our local online newspaper there are of course calls for revenge against the power company as soon as full power, is restored.
Don't see the point of waiting that long since " Revenge is a dish best served cold ". by the time we get the heat back the moment will have passed us by.

Anyway I don't really agree with the statement about revenge being a dish best served cold. Surely it should be ' gazpacho is a dish best served cold'.

I cannot thank Blip central enough for featuring the Hurricane in their weekly blog " Power to the People ". I have passed the link on to all the people who were residents at Schooley's Mountain Fire and Rescue Center. All of them now have power back. The remaining people in my area who still await power are at the Memorial Hall at drakes town methodist Church which I featured a few days ago.

I will get back personally to everyone and we owe all of you a sincere debt of thanks for helping brighten this dark and cold episode.

All that's left to do is start the clear-up !!!

douglas

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.