Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

This Cobbler's Son...

... never went without shoes!

To fully appreciate and understand this, please see my 2010 blip about Jorge, our Bellingham cobbler/shoe maker.

This morning I took a couple of leather belts to our cobbler  to have an extra hole added (not because I've gained weight -- the opposite is true). 
When I walked into the cobbler's shop, I was warmly greeted by a friendly young man named Juan. I enquired about Jorge and he told me that he would be in later.

Juan quickly punched the extra holes in my belts, and when I asked how much I owed him, he said "No charge." I gave him a tip anyway, and he was very pleased.

To make a long story short, I eventually learned that Juan is Jorge's son. When I asked if he thought his dad would ever retire, he told me that Jorge had said he would retire when he was 80 years old, and continue to make shoes for babies. He's now 78. 

Juan was very happy to pose for me, proudly holding his first pair of shoes -- no prize for guessing who made them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.