horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

For make benefit of glorious nature of me...

Everything has a value.... Auctions show that up in sharp relief. Okay, so you've got eBay, but I like going to auctions and actually seeing and handling stuff before bidding. We'd gone to Montrose with the intention (for me) of getting one of the utterly random lots of film cameras (to keep a couple and sell on others); I would up getting a porcelain badger and this Soviet medal.

I had seen the medal before (one of five soviet versions for sale), and had intended to bid, but hadn't expected much with an estimate into 3 figures. I guess I just got lucky bidding and winning in one motion for less than half the estimate. Hurrah! A little bit of digging (and checking with my boss who is half Russian for a translation of a stamp on the back) and it's one of these - a 'Great Patriotic War' medal. Originals from the 40s (for bravery confronting encroaching enemy forces in WWII) can go for 4 figures; this is a 1985 anniversary version, which was one of a few million made for all surviving Russian veterans of the conflict. There's a first class (this one, with gold 'wings') and a second class (with silver). It's apparently made more cheaply than the 40s original, but is still solid silver, with gold plate, so not tinny.

There's something about Soviet stuff I like, perhaps the (unintentional?) Art Deco shadows. I can see a collection brewing...

Mel was clearly in Auction-mood, coming away with porcelain birds and cats; plates; and seafood dishes. Mind you, her dad spent a small fortune on stamps. All nice as well because my mum came down on the train from Aberdeen to join us, so all in all a really pleasant day, after a nice night last night.

Shattered from the cycle challenge I was set free from work a little before 2, and reinvigorated by a snooze we headed out for dinner in Kanpai (excellent, the octopus fish balls were stunning) before an RSNO concert with Carmina Burana as the main composition. Stunningly good. Proper 'hairs on the back of your neck' stuff when the chorus hits full flow. And delightfully profane (as the conductor was happy to inform us). Glorious.

Though I do still need to sleep. So much (however tomorrow, before breakfast, I want to go on a Waxwing hunt (more cycling), and then we're at the rugby in the afternoon)...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.