Heart of Darkness

I think it's fair to say that I've been known to take a risk or two in the pursuit of a blip. Mountains, Crags and Rivers have all featured.
But today I présent the very worst place on earth, with the possible exception of Grimsby*, inside the nest of that most vile of beasts, the Wasp.
The pic is a little bleary not due to focus, or equipment or lighting, but rather the sudden fast backward movement of the blipper.

In the garden today I noticed a distinct hum. Fool that I am I followed it. These little striped terrors have made a nest that fills one of the BlueTit boxes. "That" thought I "could make a very interesting blip". Balanced on a garden chair with little camera's lens mere millimetres from the hole in the wood it was fascinating. Until the hum got louder... and angrier....and then fascinating became the wrong adjective.

*Apologies to anyone from Grimsby, but there's a clue in the name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.