stujphoto

By stujphoto

Through the back window...

I met up with my friend, John in Edinburgh today to visit the Rembrandt exhibition at the National Gallery. Whilst there were a few of his most famous paintings on show I was more taken with the range and quality of his engravings. Normally I find these a bit of a turn-off but the way the exhibition is constructed encouraged me to have a more detailed look at these aspects of his work and his major influence on many British artists.

After some lunch we walked down into New Town to the Scottish Gallery where there was an exhibition of John Brown's work. he is primarily a landscape painter who has latterly moved into more abstract styles. As my friend, john is also moving in this direction in his artwork it was of particular interest. 

The overcast sky did not give much opportunity to shoot photographs but I did grab this shot through the back window of the gallery of their very upmarket New town garden which forms a great setting for one or two of their sculptures. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.