OMP

By OMP

A Dragon's Meal

Look at that jaw in Large...

When I see a dragonfly munching on a fellow insect, their name (dragonfly) makes more sense.  

I was searching for a bug... any bug just after the rain.  It was strange that every plant/flower was empty.  When the sun popped out, I made one more round and spotted a single dragonfly on a leaf.  I slowly moved in for the shot, getting one at a distance, then it was gone.  :(  Bummer.  But, before leaving I spotted that same dragonfly one bush over... with a meal. :))  Knowing that they will usually continue to munch on their prey despite the intrusion camera, I dared to get close rather quickly.  It paid off; he didn't move more than his mouth for several minutes!

I'm not sure what insect he is devouring, but I did mention how much I'd appreciate it if he would make the mosquitos his next meal... Much more productive. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.