Autumn Shadow Play

We've begun clearing out our bedroom prior to the installation of bamboo flooring there. Having filled up the guest bedroom where we're presently sleeping, it's getting to be quite a challenge to find temporary storage places for all the things presently in our larger master bedroom.

It also means we're turning up items we hadn't thought about for some time, among which was the little Gorillapod tripod that Phil gave me for my birthday (February). Instead of carrying on with the sorting and storing, I decided to play with this "new" toy today.

I quickly found that it didn't have to be used in classic tripod pose, or the ways the website suggests. For me, it's like having extra fingers with which to brace my little Olympus XZ-1 when doing macro shots. I experimented with a variety of subjects, but liked this crinkled red maple leaf and its ambiguous shadow, rather like a Balinese shadow puppet, best of all.

(You can see another "pose" here -- I think the leaf looks like Y Ddraig Goch, the Red Dragon of Wales.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.