The second half of life..

By twigs

Re-thatching

We drove past this wee cottage between K's new home and F's.   The thatched Cotswold cottages are quite beautiful but to see one having its thatch re-done was unusual.  As I took a few pictures the owner chanced to walk by.  She told me that the cottage dated back to the 1600's and she showed me a wee plaque on the wall that indicated the [much, [i]much [/i]earlier] owners had paid the necessary money so that if the roof was burning, the fire fighters would put it out!  I guess that was an early example of insurance.  She even invited me in to have a look at the roof from the inside of the cottage.  Utterly gorgeous and fascinating.  

In other news, we had rain today - the first since I've been here and, despite it only being very light and lasting less than 10 minutes, it seemed to freshen things up just a little.  I can't begin to imagine how the owners of the cottage would have coped if it had poured!  Hope the thatcher works quickly over the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.