Stanage Edge

Tony had an orienteering meeting in Hathersage in the Peak District today so I tagged along and went for a walk up on Stanage Edge which is one of several gritstone edges in the area. I took a path out of the village towards North Lees. the Manor House there is thought to be the inspiration for Emily Bronte's Thornfield as she stayed in the area. From there I walked out past High Neb to Stanage End and then returned along the edge to the trig point above Hookcar Sitch. It was there that I spotted this group. When they reached the edge I had to ask one of the parents what it was about. He told me that he'd asked his 10 year old what he wanted to do for his birthday and he had said 'Climb up a hill with inflatable palm trees' so that is what they were doing! Wonderful!

There were hundreds of climbers on the crags by the time I was heading towards the 'end of the edge'. Quite a few paragliders too. Dropping down from Stanage Edge, twenty minutes or so away was my next destination, Burbage Edge and from thence to Higger Tor and Carl Wark (an iron age fort which would make a great location for Lord of the Rings!) I completed the circle by walking down to Michell Field and back along Dale Bottom to Hathersage just in time for a cuppa and toasted fruit bread (delicious!) before meeting Tony from his meeting.

Lots of bliportunities today but I had to go with this one of the pond on the way to Stanage End. Looks better in large. You can just see Mam Tor to the left in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.