Friday: Franklin Ave, Yellowknife

Our last morning in Yellowknife. I did a couple of radio interviews in the morning, one for CBC (BBC equivalent) and one for a local radio station run by Ollie, originally from Manchester. He moved to Yellowknife after meeting his Canadian wife at the 2010 Winter Olympics.

I was then given a tour round the impressive Prince of Wales Heritage Centre before heading to the airport for our flight back to Vancouver, via Calgary.

It's definitely been one of the best work trips I've been on. The North, as they call it, is incredibly fascinating and the people are quite different. We'd definitely like to try and get back in the winter. I was also lucky to have a wonderful 'chaperone', in the form of Carmen, who works for local protocol. She is an Acadian, originally from Prince Edward Island, and looked after me beautifully.

This is Franklin Avenue, one of the main streets to run through Yellowknife. I love the sense of sky. It's also interesting because the bumps in the road are due to shifting permafrost, a result of climate change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.