Summer Soup!

Tidying the allotment this morning - cutting back the aquilegia, daisies and foxgloves, shaking the seeds on the ground as I went! Then I collected the ingredients for summer soup - courgette, first of the beans and broad beans, peas, spinach, Swiss chard and kale. I love potatoes in a soup so dug up a Pentland and Charlotte. Being a first earlier I thought the pentland would be small, but they were huge! So I dug up the Charlotte, which were even bigger and a big yield - not bad for potatoes meant to be small in size and for salads! These are just the yield from the one plant in my blip!  I wasn't expecting much from the potatoes given the lack of rain but looks like they will be a bumper crop! Home to make the soup with some fresh coriander, parsley and mint from my back garden - just the lemon and stock cube which were not home grown!
The tidying up continued at home - I was like a thing possessed! Made a fish gratin for dinner and cooked some salmon which also needed to be eaten today - it will keep longer now cooked! Back to do the hens in the lovely cool of the evening and to erect more poles for my climbing squash which are going quite berserk!
On arriving home the familiar heady scent of my Queen of The Night greeted me - 3 flowers open! No need to put my little machine on that sends scented mist into the air as I meditate - it changes colour and you add water and a few drops of an oil of my choice - I have a box of 12 to chose from! 
What a perfectly lovely if rather manic day! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.