During the lunch break.....

  Today was a BYOT at the nursery, which means Bring Your Own Tree and get all the help you need, to ask questions, to help each other and share in the art of Bonsai!  I had brought several trees today that needed a great deal of work.  I brought doughnuts for the early birds who arrive at 8:30 or later.  After bringing my trees from the car to the table I went straight to work.....  The Serissa that I have Blipped before  needed repotting for the year.  The root ball was literally, like a brick!  The roots had grown in-between and all around the aggregate rock.  I spent 2 hours separating the roots and fine feeder roots from the aggregate, combing them out, cutting out the thick, heavy roots, and prepping a new pot.  I put new aggregate in the bottom, placed the tree, checked, it moved it, checked it again, minimally wired it down, checked it, had others look, and when everything looked right, wired it down tight. Then I added aggregate and taped it down tight around the roots (getting all of the air pockets out from between the root hairs).  Then....   off to the watering table and on to lunch.  I don't have a picture of it today because I went to lunch and then trimmed to taper 3 other trees.
    What I did get was a bonsai by the greenhouse and posted it for today.  Tomorrow I will bring the tree home and hopefully get a picture here.
     Today was an unbelievably hot and humid day.  By 10:00 I was soaked in my clothes from sweat, my hair was plastered to my skull, I was drinking Gator Ade, 4 bottles of water,  and miserable.  I decided to leavel after lunch, came home to shower, a nap and felt much better.  Tomorrow is another day and lets hope it's either not as hot and humid, or less humid and hot.  Both of them together like today is very difficult and was just too much for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.