Sent with love and made with love

Something I miss are Dad's lemons. He had a system where he used the rinse water from the washing machine to water the lemon tree and feijoas.

It was time consuming and heavy as it involved piping water to buckets and carrying them. As much as we sometimes thought it was too much for Dad, we all benefitted from well tended and watered fruit trees.

Dad always sent me home with lemons or sent me a box. Same with feijoas.

Last week my sister-in-law sent me a box of lemons with a jar of lemon honey (lemon curd) carefully packed inside, and a lovely card. She knew what Dad used to do and did it for me. How kind and thoughtful of Judith.

Today I preserved 2 large jars of the lemons and made a double recipe of Mum's lemon honey. I'll share the love by giving most of the lemon honey away. I dropped some off to friends this afternoon. More will go this week.

I still have lemons in my fruit bowl to enjoy too.

It's miserable weather and shortly I'll hunker down with my laptop and type up some of Mum's recipes to make a cook book.

Today's gratitude: For doing things that give me and others pleasure instead of worrying about what I can't control.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.