Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Hits & Mrs

It appears that Djokovic hit some balls and Anderson must have missed some.
France hit the goal more than Croatia did, and England missed the final altogether.
In other circumstances I would perhaps have been doing something in recognition of my wedding anniversary, but instead I spent the day with my former college friend, Debbie, whom I did see briefly last June.

We met at Kew Gardens where the lack of Summer rain was quite apparent, and after a bimble round the gardens and the palm house, we headed off to a pub for a fabulous Sunday lunch. Then a quick tube ride to Richmond for a heavenly ice-cream and a quick diversion round a street which was flooded owing to the Thames overflowing its banks because of a peak (Spring/King) tide. It's a sight I am unfamiliar with, having lived most of my life much farther downstream where the river is safely contained within walls built to accommodate the normal variation in water levels. It seemed somehow incongruous to witness stranded parked cars so soon after parched parkland.

I was aware that Paul Simon was scheduled to play his last ever live European concert in Hyde Park but chose not to go. I am reliably informed that he did indeed play the song we had selected for our very first moments of married life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.