Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

HANNIBAL on CRETE

We took a ride onto the peninsula of Akrotiri, just outside the city of Chania where I teached my sweetheart once more how to drive his new car with gears.... His old car is an automatic one and for reasons I don't understand he bought himself in April a new car that goes with gears, to which he's not used since decades.... So I give him driving lessons on lonely roads to manage the changing gears etc. and up to the monastery of Gouverneto the road is rather quiet and a nice challenge for him. He still needs more training with the gears and I fear I won't manage to have him ready for that when leaving next week. The old car he's held on to for that reason... it's an automat and he can drive that OK, but it's one of age and about to give up totally... costing so much in repairs every now & then... WHY oh why he's got himself a new car with gears, I don't understand!  Ofcourse I've asked him if he imagined I'd stay as his driver... I can't and he knew and knows that 

Anyway, on our arrival at Monastery Gouverneto, we met these couples of Germans who're here third time round... they fell In Love with Crete!! and have their textbooks with history and historical sites present. They accepted me blipping them and liked the idea of going online :)
His T-shirt writes Hannibal, so Hannibal revisiting Crete it is for today :)

Another lovely day here... wishing you the same !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.