Fiesta Virgen del Carmen

It was a holiday in Spain today - one of the saints' days with lots of festivities centring on the carrying of a heavy float by strong young men. They walk bare feet, some blindfolded as a further act of humility, bearing the weight on their shoulders. The parade moved slowly through the streets to the beach, after which there was a service, and I understand that the float is then taken into a boat and out onto the sea before returning to land some time later. Then there would be music, dancing and fireworks. I didn't stay for that bit - the place was absolutely heaving with people and I know my photo isn't brilliant (a crop at that - it was well nigh impossible to get a decent shot through the crowds!) but it does reflect the intensity of the occasion. 

I've included six extras to complete the story. The first was taken earlier in the day inside the church, the second shows the super bright ribbons and blue sky outside, and then we have a few of the procession to give you some idea just how many people there were. It was almost dark, so I've had to lighten the shadows quite a bit. Finally, a shot of one of the side streets which shows the festival atmosphere.

More in my b&w journal!

Thank you so much for looking and many thanks for everything for yesterday's blip!


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.