OMP

By OMP

Itty Bitty Teeny Tiny

See its eyes in Large.

I was on an insect safari this evening trying to come up with something other than a dragonfly.  There were a few interesting subjects, but when I spotted this extra small crab spider, on a cone flower bud, I was thrilled.  Owing to the fact that it would (hopefully) stay still longer than most bugs, I took the time to set up my tripod.  That's something I rarely do when shooting little creatures, as it isn't very easy to capture spontaneous movement from a tripod.  But this spider's unusually minute size kind of required the steady support, especially if I hoped to capture its eyes.  Low evening sun, a little flash assistance and the tripod were the key to getting what I wanted.  Now I just needed to talk the little guy into turning around to face me...  Crab spiders (usually) seem to want to posture and chastise the intrusion, but this wee one took some convincing and patience.  Fortunately it turned around for the last few minutes of sun shine.  Whew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.